The little Clay Pot

Lots of things can go in a little Clay Pot

When the unexpected comes up… February 6, 2010

Filed under: Frugal Living — littleclaypot @ 7:15 pm

Aldis is a "No frills No Name Brands" Grocery Store...

…So what do you do when you only have $20.00 to spend out of your weekly budget on Groceries!?  You Thank God- Litterally that you have a well stocked freezer and pantry for just such an occasion.  Then you check your stock and decide on the essentials…Sorry local and organic go out the window here except for what you already have in the cupboard.

So why only $20.00?  Well, by choice really.  There is $ in savings…but if you continually dip into savings…*poof* its gone.  And, I am firmly resolved to stick to a budget…and you know what?  The LORD has provided.  My In-laws gave us quite a bit of beef last week.  Always a treat (local, and not certified organic but I know how my Father-in-law raises his cows and I am happy to eat them.)  Little did I know that it would come in so handy!  The other thing is…it has been worse…there have been weeks when there was not enough money to pay the bills…and we ate at our regular $100.00 a week budget…only causing more problems with the bills.  This week, the bills got paid, there is gas $ for the car, and I had $20.00 left over for food.  So I embraced the challenge…and this is what I came up with.  

Talking about essentials :  I have plenty of flour, and yeast to make bread every day.  I have plenty of oatmeal (organic) for the kids for breakfast.  I have peanut buter(local/organic)…and homemade jelly from a friend.  There are the staples for breakfast and lunch.   

What I needed was: Milk, fruits and veggies.  As you can see from the grocery reciept… that is exactly what I got.  With the exception of dishwasher detergent…sorry folks…that is an essential for me! *grin*  That and a bag of Tropicana (American grown-Not chinese) Mandarins were the most expensive things on the list! 

So the menu is posted, the LORD has Provided, Blessed be the name of the LORD!

 

2 Responses to “When the unexpected comes up…”

  1. Madeline Says:

    I, too, have done this but this is exceptional because you purchased from New York where the cost of living is phenomenal. What do we ‘really’ need? And, is it a ‘need’ or a ‘want’ ? May you continue to be blessed,
    Madeline


Leave a Reply

