The little Clay Pot

Lots of things can go in a little Clay Pot

To Be or Not To Be… February 10, 2010

There are certain advantages to being a Stay At Home Mom (SAHM).  There are also certain advantages to being a Go To Work Mom (GTWM).  The question that lies deep within all of us women is…”Is it better on the other side?”  The answer is “Yes.”  It doesn’t matter which side you are on…it will always be better on the other side.  We are talking about the proverbial grass right?  It’s always greener on the other side.  But I learned a secret to being content on my own side of the fence.

Of course the number one rule here is you must know Jesus.  Philippians 4:7 says: And the peace of God, which passes all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. (emphasis added.)  We have to know Jesus Christ to have peace. 

The second rule is we must be functioning in the LORD’s will…otherwise we will have no peace.  Ephesians 5:17 tells us not be unwise, but to know the will of the LORD.  (paraphrase)  Isaiah 26:3 tells us that God will keep us in perfect peace, if we stay focused on Him, because we can trust Him. (paraphrase)

My great epiphany?  Remember in Hinds Feet in High Places…when the Shephard took Much-Afraid to Egypt, and showed her the granary?  He showed her how each type of grain had its own method of being threshed and used.  Then He showed Much-Afraid the potter: cutting, and kneading, and shaping the clay.  And this is what the Shephard said to Much-Afraid:

                   “In Egypt, too, I fashion my fairest and finest vessels and bring forth instruments for my work, according as I see fit.” (Jeremiah 18) Then He smiled and added, “Cannot I do with you Much-Afraid, as this potter?  Behold, as the clay is in the hand of the potter so are you in my hand.” (Jeremiah 18:6)

While in Egypt Much-Afraid finds tiny little golden flowers that are called “Acceptance-with-Joy.”

The LORD led me to Egypt.  He took me to work.  I worked long hours and the LORD blessed me and I was respected and paid well for the work I was doing.  He blessed the work of my hands and used me as an instrument.  But, He also took me there to break me, to beat me like grain, and to knead me like clay.  And as He worked…and I became more focused on the things of the flesh–the things of Egypt–my home, my car, my status…I started to break.  My only rest was in the fact that I knew that I was where the LORD had put me…until the LORD chose to take me out. 

The Shephard did not leave Much-Afraid in Egypt.  God did not leave Israel in Egypt.  God did not leave me in Egypt either.   He brought me home, to be a mother, a wife, and even a student.  Honestly, I do not even long for Egypt.  Some of the comforts maybe (the steady pay-check) but the LORD has provided! Proving that what I think of as a comfort is not even necessary.  So I came out of Egypt, a little formed clay pot, and I have learned to be content. 

So maybe I am corn that has to be crushed with a stone.  Maybe you are wheat that can be tossed gently in the wind…But we both need to be willing to go to Egypt if the LORD leads us there, and we need to “Accept-with-Joy” the work that he does on us.  I am still a little clay pot.  But the LORD is forming me into something of beauty that HE can use for His purposes.

 

2 Responses to “To Be or Not To Be…”

  1. mlauf Says:

    10I rejoice greatly in the Lord that at last you have renewed your concern for me. Indeed, you have been concerned, but you had no opportunity to show it. 11I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances. 12I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want. 13I can do everything through him who gives me strength. Philippians 4:10-12
    Marti http://www.rlbiblestudy.wordpress.com Key word is LEARNED to be content. We all have to learn this.


Leave a Reply

