The little Clay Pot

Lots of things can go in a little Clay Pot

Our Daily Bread…. February 21, 2010

Bread is first mentioned in the Bible in Genesis 3:19 where we are told that we will have to work to eat our bread.  And isn’t that the truth!  While most of us do not grow our own wheat, harvest, thrash, and grind it, or even bake it…we work hard in our respective professions to buy bread.  Some bread is more expensive;  Artisan fresh from the bakery for example.  And some is cheap…the last time I looked I think you can buy a loaf of white sandwich-bread from Aldi’s for about $0.88.  But either way, you have to work for the money to buy your bread.

The new face of bread

So what about our daily bread?  I would love to expound here (Did you know that Bethlehem translates as “House of Bread?”  Hmm…Interesting.)  But I want to focus on the Bread recipe I have been using for about the last 8 weeks.  The why, the how and the HOW MUCH $$.

The WHY is easy:  I want to put good food into our bodies.  I know exactly what is in my bread.  It is WAY yummy and a lot easier than I thought.

The HOW:  I have posted the recipe on Recipe Zaar. You do not have to be a member to search the recipes.   This allows for nutritional data to be evaluated, (although please understand that the recipe says it makes 3 loaves, and the nutritional data is for 1 whole loaf, if you make larger/smaller loaves it will obviously vary…but it gives you an idea of what nutrients you are getting out of your bread)  and by providing a link…I do not have to double my work *Grin*  I typically make palm or hamburger size loaves for lunch.  They are just the right size to slice for the kids.  It doesn’t look like a wonder bread sandwich, but it tastes so good!  If we are having bread for dinner make a larger loaf…about the size of a small melon.

The How Much $$:  This cost analysis is approximate–But it should be pretty close.  Also it is PER BATCH.  Remember each batch makes 2-3 loaves, or somewhere around 20 palm size rolls….so the cost per loaf or serving will obviously be less.   I would be negligent not to point out that somehow you do have to calculate for the cost of the electricity/gas to bake it etc.  But assuming that you already keep a fridge running and a hot water heater going, then you should not see a dramatic increase in your utility bill just because you start making your own bread.  Also, if your time is valuable (which it is), then you have to put a value on your time.  But at about $1.28 per Batch–that’s $0.64 a loaf! –you are getting something worth a little extra time.

Ingredient Price Amount Unit Units per container Price per unit
Yeast 3.69 2 lbs 1 tbl 96 0.04
Wheat Flour 7.50 5 lbs 1 C 20 0.38
Wheat germ 2.12 1 lb 1/3 C 12 0.18
Flour 22.00 50 lb 5 C 32 0.69
TOTAL Per Batch 1.28

I was curious to see what the difference would be if I purchased the white Flour from Gianforte Farm (via CNY Bounty).  As you can see, It works out to be only about $3.00!  I am totally Impressed.

Ingredient Price Amount Unit Units per container Price per unit
Yeast 3.69 2 lbs 1 tbl 96 0.04
Wheat Flour 7.5 5 lbs 1 C 20 0.38
Wheat germ 2.12 1 lb 1/3 C 12 0.18
Flour 7.5 5 lbs 5 C 3.2 2.34
TOTAL Per Batch 2.93
 

2 Responses to “Our Daily Bread….”

  1. candace Says:

    Do you let it rise before cooking after it’s been in the fridge?
    My MIL’s recipe (way more ingredients) has you form the refrigerated dough and then let it rise for 3 hours before cooking.

    Your directions say to kneed in additional flour if making a whole loaf. Do you let it sit for a certain amount of time or just pop it into the oven?

    • The original recipe said to knead in more flour and let it rest 10 or 20 min. I don’t do that. If I am making rolls I make sure may hands are good and floury, and I pinch off a hunk, pat it and put it on the stone. Some times, I need to “re-flour” my hands to keep it from sticking…but it is a lot easier to wash flour and dough off my hands than to get out the board, and flour it and knead the dough, and clean the board. Sometimes I do the same sort of thing even if I am making a larger loaf, I just pick off a bigger “hunk” of dough. The only time I really knead more flour into it is if I am going to roll it for pizza dough or for a loaf pan. The dough that stays in the fridge does kinda “grow.” So I suppose that if you did want to get another rise out of you loaf you could, but I don’t.
      It really seems to be a pretty fool proof method…I haven’t had any turn out “bad,” and I probably haven’t done it the same way twice. Hope it helps!


Leave a Reply

