The little Clay Pot

Lots of things can go in a little Clay Pot

Holidays–local style. March 18, 2010

Chag Pesach Sameach

Our family loves Passover.  It is a time for us to do something special, festive and meaningful.   I enjoy preparing the meal because it is foods that we do not eat all the time…and we all enjoy eating it!

This year I purchased my lamb, carrots, eggs, and apples, via CNY Bounty.  It will be the first lamb we have gotten from a local source, we are very excited.  The honey is local, and the walnuts are from Troyer’s Amish store up the road from me.  I will have to buy my parsley, matzoh and parsnips from a chain grocer, but I hope to buy my grape juice from  Nelson Farms.  I could dig up my own horseradish…but I may opt for the store bought version…It depends on if I get to be out side with a shovel on on of these 50 degree days coming up!

The cost breaks down as follows

  • Lamb chops- $22.75
  • 4 lbs of carrots (they will not all be used for this meal of course) $5.85
  • 1 doz eggs- $3.25
  • Apples- $5.53
  • Honey- In the Pantry
  • Walnuts- In the pantry
  • The rest is yet to be determined…but shouldn’t be bad.

So the whole meal will be about $50.00.  Not to bad for a holiday meal.

In other news we are still adjusting to our new schedule and I am coming into the “busy” time for school, papers to write, meetings to attend, tests to take etc.  And my Husband started his on-line classes. So My menu planning is going to be essential in keeping things under control…but…since when have our lives been under control?  *Grin*

“He was oppressed and He was afflicted, Yet He opened not His mouth; He was led as a lamb to the slaughter, And as a sheep before its shearers is silent, So He opened not His mouth.  He was taken from prison and from judgment, And who will declare His generation? For He was cut off from the land of the living; For the transgressions of My people He was stricken.  And they made His grave with the wicked– But with the rich at His death, Because He had done no violence, Nor [was any] deceit in His mouth.  Yet it pleased the LORD to bruise Him; He has put [Him] to grief. When You make His soul an offering for sin, He shall see [His] seed, He shall prolong [His] days, And the pleasure of the LORD shall prosper in His hand.”

Isaiah 53:7-10

 

Leave a Reply

